It is supposed to be hot here; or, Kansas’ climate is not well understood

These words will end up being stuffed right back inside my mouth, and that is a reality I am comfortable with. This is because I am impulsive, and I have a strong impulse to write them, even if I know the consequence is likely to involve future humiliation.

I moved to Houston 10 days ago, and practically every person I have met here has almost immediately warned me about the weather in July, as if I should be preparing for the Apocalypse.

Now, I don’t want to suggest that I am not concerned with this. Every morning when I take the dog out, I fear that this will be the day the sidewalk vaporizes beneath my feet, leaving me walking barefoot (my sandals would have melted, too) though a bayou of molten concrete and hobo excrement.

And I further recognize that Houston is legitimately scorching. I read somewhere it was the “sweatiest” city in the United States. This I suppose could have been a measure of obesity, or of physical exertion, or the exertion of the obese, but considering the heat seems to be the main thing anyone wants to tell  you about Houston, I’m assuming it was a comment on the climate.

ANYWAY, all of this has made me realize that most people do not have a clear conception of the climate in the lower midwest. Kansas, I keep wanting to point out, is not exactly North Dakota.

Recently, someone warned me that in the summertime here it will  “get into the 90s with 90 percent humidity.” This was delivered like a grave warning. At the risk of sounding smug, I am, uh, familiar with that kind of heat.

So these are the words I am expecting to be eating in somewhere between 15 and 45 days: I know heat.

I have been incredibly hot in Kansas. One-hundred-degrees-in-the-shade hot. Football-practice-in-full-pads-at-3 p.m.-on-a-102-degree-day hot. Step-outside-at-8 a.m.-and-start-dripping hot.  So hot it makes you incredulous the human race survived in Kansas long enough to make it to the inventions of air conditioning and Gatorade.

In the past year, I have interviewed for jobs in Columbia, South Carolina and Memphis, and this same thing happened to me there. If you live south of Interstate 70 (what I call the Great Barbecue Divide), you most likely assume Kansas is more like Nebraska than Oklahoma*.

*I know some Kansans will disagree with me, but even from a cultural perspective I’ve always felt  Kansas was more closely related to Oklahoma than Nebraska or Iowa. 

Even though Kansas has both brutal winters and brutal summers, the thing everyone south of it notices is the winters. Which makes sense. Humans are constantly doing things like that. When I was 8 and we lived in Indiana, I remember thinking Kansas, where my grandmother and cousins lived, was some kind of desert wasteland. This probably had a lot to do with a photo of my cousin playing in my grandmother’s yard, a yard in which all the grass was completely yellow and dead on account of some wicked drought that must have occurred in about 1989.

But still. Because it was hotter than Indiana, Kansas was therefore HOT. And I think that’s what happens with people from Houston. Because Kansas is sometimes cooler than Texas, it is always cooler than Texas.

That all said, I could go for a Gatorade.

7 thoughts on “It is supposed to be hot here; or, Kansas’ climate is not well understood

  1. I have said this repeatedly: The heat and humidity in Houston is very similar to Eastern Kansas. I’ve been equally miserable in Topeka as in Houston. The difference, to me, seems to be the length of the season. You’re getting a soft start to it – this time last year it was already nasty. This year, it’s quite pleasant still. It’s not worse than Eastern Kansas, it’s just longer.

  2. I find it hard to believe anywhere in the lower 48 has Kansas beat in terms of year-round weather misery.

    Summer is miserable. Winter is miserable. Spring and fall are each approximately six days long. And don’t forget the unexpected torrential downpours and freezing/scorching wind, depending on the season.

  3. You’ll see. The difference is that it cools down a bit in Kansas once the sun goes down.

    When the blistering Texas heat gets all that concrete in Houston cooking, you will find that at midnight it is still topping 90.

    Trust me, you’re gonna love it.

    BTW, welcome to the Lone Star. I am in North Texas but I like it here. I would love to live in Larry, but it’s not gonna happen due to the cold. (Not a big fan).

  4. You could mention that your high school did not have lights so we got the pleasure of starting home games at 4 pm during mid-august. You, sir, have suffered.

    I’m being told the same “heat-pocalypse” tales by people in Raleigh-Durham. Of course, I am moving there from Denver, in mid-July. Still, I feel like they don’t understand the brutality that the midwest offered me growing up.

  5. Very well said! I’ve stopped arguing with people from other states about it. They generally won’t believe you until they’ve experienced it for themselves. I have a lot of family in Texas, who have spent a fair amount of time up in Kansas. Interestingly, we have no such discussions. They know damn well it’s scorching in Kansas during summer.

    Also, Dave you are right on.

  6. Undeniably imagine that that you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the internet the simplest factor to be mindful of. I say to you, I definitely get irked at the same time as other folks think about issues that they plainly don’t realize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest as smartly as defined out the whole thing with no need side-effects , other people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

Leave a Reply

