Michael Jackson and Notorious B.I.G do duet(s), my head explodes

Although this is a (phenomenal) video of Michael Jackson dancing, the real treat here is the song, “Unbreakable,” on which the Notorious B.I.G. spits (I dunno, several?) bars.

I had never heard this song before, and apparently neither had my buddy Bill, who saw this video this morning and responded by doing this:

1. Texting me: “Are you by a computer”

2. Texting me: “Get on facebook I have something that will blow your mind”

3. Sending me this link, and waiting for my reaction, which was to, 1) get goosebumps, 2) yell things into the facebook chat.

This song is off MJ’s album, “Invincible” from 2001, which calls into question how Biggie’s lyrics got on the track. I’m guessing it’s the same way Tupac keeps releasing albums, which is that he’s actually still alive, getting high on spare ribs in a cave with Elvis and Chris Farley. At least that’s what I choose to believe.

“Invincible” was Jackson’s last album and, as far as I can tell, the last album on which Biggie appears, which makes it doubly spooky and awesome.

Anyway, a few minutes of Googling has revealed the following:

From a site called last.fm:

… in 1995, (Biggie) was featured in Michael Jackson’s song “This Time Around”, which can be found on Jackson’s HIStory album. This was not the only Michael Jackson song in which Wallace featured in. In 2001, Jackson included a rap verse sung by Wallace in his song “Unbreakable”, which is found on Jackson’s “Invincible” album.

From a site called michael-jackson-trader:

“The latest issue of Vibe Magazine features a special on late rapper Notorious B.I.G. In the article, B.I.G.’s best friend Damion Butler is quoted with the following:
“I remember one time we were going to the Billboard Awards or something and we were gonna meet Michael Jackson. On the ride over Big kept sayin’, What can I do to Michael Jackson that’s not bad, but will make him remember me? So we got to the meeting and Mike stuck out his hand. Big grabbed his hand, pulled him into a close hug and then flung him back out, like Wassup? He roughed Mike up with a real, old-fashioned, ghetto love hug. Mike was fucked up by that one.”

So, Biggie was obviously a Michael Jackson fan, evidenced by him referring to MJ as “my n*gga Mike,” which is probably something a white guy shouldn’t even comment on.

I’ve got to say, I’m feeling a little embarrassed that I never knew about either of these songs, despite loving both Michael Jackson and Biggie. You’d think somebody would have told me at some point, which I guess Bill did, but about eight years too late.

3 thoughts on “Michael Jackson and Notorious B.I.G do duet(s), my head explodes

Leave a Reply

